Salone Library In Independent Exhibition!Nigeria Leads Africa Politics ! Muslims Advocate for Constitutional Right ! SALBOT Distributes Radios !

Cabinet reshuffle…4 sacked, 6 transferred, 6 new Ministers

By Alhaji Mohamed Wusha Conteh 16th March 2016 updated 20:00

President Ernest Bai Koroma over the weekend made the largest cabinet reshuffle with the appointment of forty ministers, deputies, ambassadors and head of agencies.

Among the lists of the reshuffle, six ministers and deputies were relieved from their duties, six transferred to other ministries or given another appointment while six ministers will be regarded as new.

The Ministers and deputies sacked include the Minister of Sports Paul Kamara, Joseph Bandabla Dauda former Minister of Internal Affairs, Usman Boie Kamara Minister of Trade.

Among the deputy ministers sacked were Sheka Tarawally of Internal Affairs, Theo Nicol of Information Ministry and as of yesterday Foday Sawi of the Health Ministry.

The Ministers that were transferred are Ahmed Khanou from Deputy Ministry of Lands Country Planning and the Environment to Minister of Sports, Maj. Rtd. Alfred Palo Conteh from Minister of Defence to Minister of Internal Affairs, Diana Konomanyi former Minister of Local Government and Rural Development now Minister of Lands, Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay formerly of the Ministry of Political and Public Affairs now Minister of Works, Housing and Infrastructure. Also the transferred Minister includes Cpt. Alieu Pat-Sowe from the Fisheries and Marine Resources Ministry to Minister of Trade and Industry, Maya Kaikai from Resident Minister East to Minister of Local Government and Rural Development and Momodu Kargbo from Bank Governor to Minister of Finance.

The Minister of Finance and Economic Development Dr. Kaifala Marah is now the Governor of the Bank of Sierra Leone and was replaced by Momodu Kargbo former Bank Governor. The newly appointed Ministers include former Chairman and Leader of the United Democratic Movement (UDM) Mohamed Bangura Minister of Information and Communications, Sidi Yayah Tunis Minister of Tourism, Elizabeth Mans, Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources, Bai Mahmoud Bangura, Minister of Youth Affairs, Nanette Thomas Minister of Political and Public Affairs and Sylvia Blyden Minister of Social Welfare, Gender and Children’s Affairs.

Dr Christiana Thorpe was also appointed to serve as deputy Minister of Education.